Zucchini (courgette)

In plain English

Zucchini sold in stores are bred to be free of , the bitter defense chemicals of the squash family. The trait can come back, and bitter squash have had 93–310 mg per 100 g. Cooking does not destroy them. In Germany in 2015 a man died after eating a stew of bitter home-grown zucchini; a French series from 2012–16 recorded 353 patients and no deaths. Germany's food-safety agency advises: taste a little raw first, and don't use it if it's bitter. 100 g raw has 17.9 mg vitamin C, 23.9% of the 75 mg US for women.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Cucurbita pepo
Kingdom
plant
Family
Cucurbitaceae
Part eaten
immature fruit
In the kitchen
vegetable

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

1 compound listed for this food has no amount for raw; it is under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Cucurbitacins: Heat-stable: cooking does NOT destroy them. [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 169291]boiled [FDC 169292]
Protein1.21 g [USDA]imputed1.14 g [USDA]
Fat0.32 g [USDA]0.36 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential3.11 g [USDA]calculated2.69 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber1 g [USDA]1 g [USDA]
Sugars2.5 g [USDA]calculated1.71 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:110 µg [USDA]calculated55.8 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C17.9 mg [USDA]12.9 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.12 mg [USDA]imputed0.12 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food4.3 µg [USDA]imputed4.2 µg [USDA]
Folate (DFE)24 µg [USDA]calculated28 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.163 mg [USDA]0.08 mg [USDA]
Potassium261 mg [USDA]264 mg [USDA]
Magnesium18 mg [USDA]19 mg [USDA]
Calcium16 mg [USDA]18 mg [USDA]
Iron0.37 mg [USDA]0.37 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.32 mg [USDA]0.33 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )120 µg [USDA]670 µg [USDA]
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]0 µg [USDA]imputed
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]0 µg [USDA]imputed

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein1.21 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.63% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 2.69% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.08% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 2.63% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.08% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber1 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 3.33% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 4% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:110 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 120 µg (label amount), gives 10 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.43% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C17.9 mg
Vitamin E0.12 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.8% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 4% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.09% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.71% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 1.6% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food4.3 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.78% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 6.14% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 6.14% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 7.17% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 7.82% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)24 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 12% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 7.27% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 6% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 6% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.163 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 12.5% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 13.6% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.2% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 12.5% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 12.5% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium261 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 7.46% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.46% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 9.32% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 7.44% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium18 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.62% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 6.67% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.62% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 8.18% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium16 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.6% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 2.29% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.68% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 1.6% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.6% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron0.37 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.06% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 2.5% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 2.31% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 3.36% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.06% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.629–1.89% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.32 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 4.57% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.27% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 4% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.27–10.7% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.045 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.09% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5.62% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.09% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.09% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.094 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.55% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 8.55% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.88% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.55% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 8.55% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0.2 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.364% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 0.333% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.286% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.333% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.769% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.053 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.89% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 4.42% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.08% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.42% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.177 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.83% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.9% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.54% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus38 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.43% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 6.91% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.91% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.8% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium8 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.533% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.4% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.4% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.4% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline9.5 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.24% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.38% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.24% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

zucchini

Most of the carbohydrate in raw zucchini is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 1 g of glucose and about 1.3 g of fructose, plus traces of sucrose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose1 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose1.3 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose1.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digestedtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars2.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents2.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar0.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar0.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-627: Courgette, raw [source]

zucchini (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled zucchini is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 0.6 g of glucose and about 1.2 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose0.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose1.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose1.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars1.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents1.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar0.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-628: Courgette, boiled in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

(bitter courgettes only)

Dose
raw: not in totals: no amount in the source data; explainer onlyboiled: not in totals: no amount in the source data; explainer only
Cooking
Heat-stable: cooking does NOT destroy them. [source]
Threshold
AdviceBfR: taste raw first and don't use if bitter. No .
Effect
'Toxic squash syndrome': vomiting and diarrhoea; a man died in Germany in 2015 after a stew of bitter home-grown courgettes. French series 2012–16: 353 patients, no deaths. Case report

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources