Arugula (rocket)

In plain English

Arugula (rocket) is a champion: arugula and wild rocket had the highest median nitrate of any vegetable in EFSA's 2008 data, 480 mg per 100 g. At that level, about 54 g reaches the acceptable daily intake for a 70 kg adult (259 mg). The EU has set a legal limit for nitrate in it. The same nitrate is the compound studied for lowering blood pressure (see beets). 100 g raw arugula gives 109 µg of vitamin K1, 121% of the 90 µg US for women, and 160 mg of calcium, 16.0% of the 1,000 mg US .

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Eruca sativa
Kingdom
plant
Family
Brassicaceae
Part eaten
leaf
In the kitchen
vegetable

Called rocket in the UK.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 480 mg in 100 g, over the safe limit. Regulatory assessment

What changes it

  • Nitrate: Usually eaten raw, so no cooking loss applies. EFSA: vegetables cooked in water lose 16–79% of . [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 169387]
Protein2.58 g [USDA]
Fat0.66 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential3.65 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber1.6 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Sugars2.05 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:1119 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C15 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.43 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food109 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)97 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.073 mg [USDA]
Potassium369 mg [USDA]
Magnesium47 mg [USDA]
Calcium160 mg [USDA]
Iron1.46 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.47 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )1420 µg [USDA]imputed
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein2.58 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.61% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5.73% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.44% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 5.61% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.44% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber1.6 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 5.33% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 6.4% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:1119 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 1420 µg (label amount), gives 119 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 17% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C15 mg
Vitamin E0.43 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.87% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 14.3% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.91% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.14% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 5.73% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food109 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 121% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 155% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 155% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 181% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 197% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)97 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 24.2% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 48.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 29.4% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 24.2% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 24.2% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.073 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.62% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 6.08% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.56% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.62% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 5.62% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium369 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.2% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 10.5% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.5% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 13.2% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 10.5% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium47 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.7% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 17.4% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 15.7% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14.7% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 21.4% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium160 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 16% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 22.9% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 16.8% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 16% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 16% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron1.46 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.11% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 9.86% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 9.12% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 13.3% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.11% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.48–7.45% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.47 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.88% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 6.71% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.27% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 5.88% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.8–15.7% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.044 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5.5% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.086 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.82% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 7.82% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.38% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.82% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 7.82% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0.3 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.545% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 0.5% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.429% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.5% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.15% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.076 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.44% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 6.33% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.85% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.33% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.321 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 17.8% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.7% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.42% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus52 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.43% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 9.45% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.45% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.2% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium27 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.8% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.35% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.35% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 1.35% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline15.3 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.6% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.82% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.6% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

arugula

100 g of raw arugula ends up as a trace of glucose and a trace of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrosetraces of glucose, starch and sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrosetraces of fructose and sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starchtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucosetrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructosetrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digestedtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugarstrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalentstrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar1.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-522: Rocket, raw [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

As the source gives it
480 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 480 mg in 100 g
Cooking
Usually eaten raw, so no cooking loss applies. EFSA: vegetables cooked in water lose 16–79% of nitrate. [source]
Threshold
1.85 of the [source]: 3.7 mg ion/kg body weight/day = 259 mg/day at 70 kg (SCF 1997, reconfirmed JECFA 2002, retained EFSA 2017). = 222 mg/day for a 60 kg adult (EFSA 2008)
Legal maximum in the food
EU max for rucola (Eruca sativa, Diplotaxis sp., Brassica tenuifolia, Sisymbrium tenuifolium): 7,000 mg NO3/kg if harvested 1 October to 31 March; 6,000 mg NO3/kg if harvested 1 April to 30 September (Reg (EU) 1258/2011, Annex item 1.5; stated as carried into Reg (EU) 2023/915 but the 2023/915 text was NOT read, see statusNote). No US federal limit.
Effect
EFSA: from vegetables is unlikely to cause appreciable health risk, and the benefits of eating vegetables prevail. Total intake from all sources can exceed the . Regulatory assessment
Used in / studied for
See beetroot nitrate: same compound.Human trial

1 entry for this food is hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources