Tomato

In plain English

A tomato is botanically a fruit, and ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten. It shows: green tomatoes, fresh, pickled or fried, carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine, their natural pesticide, per 100 g, against 0.03–0.08 mg in ripe red ones. Ripe tomatoes also carry lycopene, 2,573 µg per 100 g raw. It is better absorbed from cooked tomato: tomato paste gave 3.8 times the absorption of fresh tomatoes at the same dose, both eaten with oil.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Solanum lycopersicum
Kingdom
plant
Family
Solanaceae
Part eaten
fruit (botanically a berry)
In the kitchen
vegetable

Botanically a fruit, cooked as a vegetable.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • Alpha-tomatine: 0.03–0.08 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Animal study
  • Lycopene: 2570 µg in 100 g, well under the safe limit. Regulatory assessment

What changes it

  • Alpha-tomatine: Ripening is what removes it. Microwaving and frying did not significantly change levels. [source]
  • Lycopene: Tomato paste gave 3.8× higher lycopene absorption than fresh tomatoes (same dose, with oil). [source] Human trial

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 170457]
Protein0.88 g [USDA]imputed
Fat0.2 g [USDA]imputed
Carbohydrate: not essential3.89 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber1.2 g [USDA]
Sugars2.63 g [USDA]calculated
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:141.6 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C13.7 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.54 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food7.9 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)15 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.08 mg [USDA]
Potassium237 mg [USDA]
Magnesium11 mg [USDA]
Calcium10 mg [USDA]
Iron0.27 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.17 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )449 µg [USDA]
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )101 µg [USDA]
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein0.88 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.91% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 1.96% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.51% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 1.91% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.51% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber1.2 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 4% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 4.8% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:141.6 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 449 µg (label amount), gives 37.4 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 101 µg (label amount), gives 4.21 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.95% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C13.7 mg
Vitamin E0.54 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.6% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 18% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.91% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.71% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 7.2% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food7.9 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.78% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 11.3% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 11.3% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 13.2% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 14.4% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)15 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.75% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 7.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 4.55% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 3.75% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 3.75% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.08 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.15% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 6.67% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.15% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 6.15% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium237 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.12% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 6.77% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.77% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.46% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 6.75% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium11 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.44% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 4.07% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.67% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.44% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 5% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium10 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 1.43% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.05% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 1% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron0.27 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.5% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 1.82% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 1.69% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 2.45% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.5% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.459–1.38% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.17 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.12% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 2.43% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.27% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 2.12% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.73–5.67% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.037 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.36% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 4.62% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.36% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.36% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.019 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.73% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 1.73% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.19% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.73% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.73% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0 µg
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.059 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.56% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 4.92% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.54% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.92% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.114 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.33% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.8% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.28% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus24 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.43% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 4.36% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.36% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.4% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium5 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.333% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.25% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.25% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.25% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline6.7 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.58% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.68% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.58% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

tomato

Most of the carbohydrate in raw tomato is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 1.4 g of glucose and about 1.6 g of fructose, plus traces of starch and sucrose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose1.4 g, plus traces of starch and sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose1.6 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starchtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose1.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose1.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digestedtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-517: Tomatoes, standard, raw [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

Alpha-tomatine (glycoalkaloid)

As the source gives it
0.03–0.08 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 0.03–0.08 mg in 100 g
Cooking
Ripening is what removes it. Microwaving and frying did not significantly change levels. [source]
Threshold
No established threshold [source]EFSA 2020: for tomato 'the risk to human health could not be characterised due to the lack of occurrence data and the limited toxicity data'
Effect
Low oral toxicity in animals (a 200-day rat feeding test caused no reactions); no human high-dose data. Animal study
Used in / studied for
Tomatine-enriched diets lowered LDL cholesterol 41% in hamsters by binding cholesterol in the gut.Dose studied: 0.05–0.2% of diet (hamster)In a portion: 100 g red tomato ≈ 0.03–0.08 mgAnimal study [source]

Lycopene

As the source gives it
2573 µg/100 g, USDA FDC 170457 [source]
Dose
raw: 2570 µg in 100 g
Cooking
Tomato paste gave 3.8× higher lycopene absorption than fresh tomatoes (same dose, with oil). [source]
Threshold
0.0735 of the [source]: 0.5 mg/kg body weight/day (all sources) = 35 mg/day at 70 kg (EFSA 2008 (retained 2010); JECFA 2009 'not specified').
Effect
No toxic effect at dietary levels; the EFSA is based on a liver-enzyme rise in rats. Regulatory assessment
Used in / studied for
Meta-analysis of 42 studies: higher dietary lycopene linked to modestly lower prostate cancer risk (RR 0.88); no link for advanced prostate cancer.Dose studied: risk fell ~1% per extra 2 mg/dayHuman observational study [source]

1 entry for this food is hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources