Potato

In plain English

A potato is a swollen underground stem, not a root, and like its nightshade relatives it makes to fight off pests. Most sit in the skin, green patches and sprouts: 30–64 mg per 100 g in the skin, against 1.2–10 mg in peeled flesh. EFSA's safety margin for them is tight. At the top of the flesh range, a 100 g portion gives a 70 kg adult a margin of exposure of 7, below the 10 EFSA counts as no concern, and EFSA found toddlers below that margin on 56% of the days they ate potatoes. Peel, cut away green bits and sprouts, and don't reuse the cooking water.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Solanum tuberosum
Kingdom
plant
Family
Solanaceae
Part eaten
tuber (botanically a swollen underground stem, not a root)
In the kitchen
vegetable (starchy)

In the UK, the NHS does not count potatoes toward its 5 A Day.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 1.2–10 mg in 100 g, inside EFSA's safety margin at the low end, outside it at the high end. Regulatory assessment

What changes it

  • Glycoalkaloids: Peeling removes 25–75%; boiling peeled potatoes 5–65%; frying 20–90%. Peel holds 3–10× the flesh level. BfR: don't reuse cooking water; cut away green parts and eyes. [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 170026]boiled [FDC 170440]boiled in skin [FDC 170438]
Protein2.05 g [USDA]1.71 g [USDA]1.87 g [USDA]
Fat0.09 g [USDA]0.1 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code0.1 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Carbohydrate: not essential17.5 g [USDA]calculated20 g [USDA]calculated20.1 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber2.1 g [USDA]1.8 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code1.8 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Sugars0.82 g [USDA]0.89 g [USDA]imputed0.91 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:10.0833 µg [USDA]calculated0.0833 µg [USDA]calculated0.167 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C19.7 mg [USDA]7.4 mg [USDA]13 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.01 mg [USDA]0.01 mg [USDA]imputed0.01 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food2 µg [USDA]2.2 µg [USDA]imputed2.2 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)15 µg [USDA]calculated9 µg [USDA]calculated10 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.298 mg [USDA]0.269 mg [USDA]0.299 mg [USDA]
Potassium425 mg [USDA]328 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code379 mg [USDA]
Magnesium23 mg [USDA]20 mg [USDA]22 mg [USDA]
Calcium12 mg [USDA]8 mg [USDA]5 mg [USDA]
Iron0.81 mg [USDA]0.31 mg [USDA]0.31 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.3 mg [USDA]0.27 mg [USDA]0.3 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )1 µg [USDA]imputed1 µg [USDA]imputed2 µg [USDA]imputed
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed

Daily amounts per 100 g boiled

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g boiledDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein1.71 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.72% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 3.8% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.94% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 3.72% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.94% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber1.8 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 6% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 7.2% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:10.0833 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 1 µg (label amount), gives 0.0833 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.0119% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C7.4 mg
Vitamin E0.01 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.0667% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 0.333% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.0909% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.143% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 0.133% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food2.2 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.44% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 3.14% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 3.14% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 3.67% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 4% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)9 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.25% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 4.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 2.73% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 2.25% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 2.25% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.269 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 20.7% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 22.4% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 16.8% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 20.7% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 20.7% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium328 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 12.6% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 9.37% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.37% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 11.7% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 9.34% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium20 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.25% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 7.41% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.67% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.25% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 9.09% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium8 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.8% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 1.14% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.842% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 0.8% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.8% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron0.31 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.72% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 2.09% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 1.94% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 2.82% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.72% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.527–1.58% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.27 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.38% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 3.86% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.6% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 3.38% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.76–9% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g boiledDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.098 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.91% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 12.2% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.91% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 8.91% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.019 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.73% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 1.73% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.19% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.73% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.73% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0.3 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.545% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 0.5% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.429% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.5% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.15% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.167 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 18.6% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 13.9% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 12.8% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 13.9% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.14 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.78% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.67% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.8% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus40 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.71% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 7.27% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.27% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium5 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.333% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.25% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.25% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.25% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline13.2 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.11% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.3% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.11% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

potato

UK CoFID 2021 has no entry for raw potato. USDA lists 15.3 g of starch and 0.82 g of sugars in 100 g; what it breaks down to is not worked out here.

Starch15.3 g [USDA]
Total sugars0.82 g [USDA]
Glucose0.31 g [USDA]
Fructose0.26 g [USDA]
Sucrose0.17 g [USDA]
Maltose0 g [USDA]
Lactose0 g [USDA]
Galactose0 g [USDA]
Fiber (USDA total)2.1 g [USDA]

USDA FDC 170026: Potatoes, flesh and skin, raw (no CoFID entry for raw potato) [source]

potato (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled potato is starch, which your body breaks down to glucose. 100 g ends up as about 17.1 g of glucose and about 0.4 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose17.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch16.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars0.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents17.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar1.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-490: Potatoes, old, boiled in unsalted water, flesh only [source]

potato (boiled in skin)

UK CoFID 2021 has no entry for potato boiled in its skin. USDA lists 0.91 g of sugars in 100 g and gives no starch figure; what it breaks down to is not worked out here.

Starchnot reported [USDA]
Total sugars0.91 g [USDA]
Glucose0.34 g [USDA]
Fructose0.29 g [USDA]
Sucrose0.19 g [USDA]
Maltose0 g [USDA]
Lactose0 g [USDA]
Galactose0 g [USDA]
Fiber (USDA total)1.8 g [USDA]

USDA FDC 170438: Potatoes, boiled, cooked in skin, flesh, without salt (no CoFID entry for potato boiled in its skin) [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

(alpha-solanine + alpha-chaconine)

As the source gives it
1.2–10 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: not in totals: FDC's raw entry is flesh and skin, and the in-skin figure is not establishedboiled: 1.2–10 mg in 100 g (raw value; cooking changes this, see note)boiled in skin: not in totals: the potato was cooked in its skin, and the in-skin figure is not establishedIn-skin figure not established. Flesh (peeled) 1.2-10 mg/100 g; skin alone 30-64 mg/100 g (EFSA CONTAM Panel 2020, EFSA Journal 18(8):e06222 (final opinion), Table 1 (mg/kg fw, citing Milner et al. 2011)). [source]
Cooking
Peeling removes 25–75%; boiling peeled potatoes 5–65%; frying 20–90%. Peel holds 3–10× the flesh level. BfR: don't reuse cooking water; cut away green parts and eyes. [source]
Threshold
raw: (acute): no amount on the plate to compare [source]EFSA CONTAM Panel 2020, EFSA Journal 18(8):e06222: "a lowest-observed-adverse-effect level of 1 mg total potato GAs/kg body weight (bw) per day as a reference point"boiled: 7–58.3 (EFSA's no-concern margin: above 10) [source]Below EFSA's no-concern margin at 10 mg ( 7); above it at 1.2 mg (MOE 58.3). MOE = (acute) of 1 mg total potato /kg body weight/day ÷ dose per kg at 70 kg; EFSA CONTAM Panel 2020, EFSA Journal 18(8):e06222. A larger MOE is further from harm.“Accordingly, an MOE higher than 10 indicates that there is no health concern.” [source]boiled in skin: (acute): no amount on the plate to compare [source]EFSA CONTAM Panel 2020, EFSA Journal 18(8):e06222: "a lowest-observed-adverse-effect level of 1 mg total potato GAs/kg body weight (bw) per day as a reference point"
Effect
Nausea, vomiting and diarrhoea from about 1 mg/kg body weight; rare severe cases. No long-term effects identified in humans. Regulatory assessment
Over time
May build up over time

In human volunteers, the two potato stayed in the blood for a long time: average half-lives of 21 hours for α-solanine and 44 hours for α-chaconine. EFSA says this suggests a possible accumulation. Regulatory assessment

Sources: EFSA CONTAM Panel 2020, EFSA Journal 18(8):e06222, Summary; EFSA CONTAM Panel 2020, EFSA Journal 18(8):e06222, toxicokinetics in humans

Used in / studied for
Reported to kill several human cancer cell lines in the lab.Cell study [source]

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources