Lima beans (butter beans)

In plain English

Like cassava, lima beans make compounds that release cyanide. One Australian retail sample of small green lima beans contained 3.2 mg of hydrogen cyanide per 100 g. Mature seeds of some tropical landraces tested far higher (210–312 mg per 100 g, basis not stated); these are not typical US commercial types. Cooked, 100 g of green lima beans gives 5.4 g of fiber, 21.6% of the 25 g US for women, and 74 mg of magnesium, 23.1% of the 320 mg US .

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Phaseolus lunatus
Kingdom
plant
Family
Fabaceae
Part eaten
seed
In the kitchen
legume

Also sold as butter beans. Seeds are often chemically defended.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

1 compound listed for this food has no amount for boiled; it is under Show the numbers.

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 168396]boiled [FDC 169135]
Protein6.84 g [USDA]6.81 g [USDA]
Fat0.86 g [USDA]0.32 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential20.2 g [USDA]calculated23.6 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber4.9 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code5.4 g [USDA]imputed
Sugars1.48 g [USDA]imputed1.63 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:110.5 µg [USDA]calculated15.2 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C23.4 mg [USDA]10.1 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.32 mg [USDA]imputed0.14 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food5.6 µg [USDA]imputed6.2 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)34 µg [USDA]calculated26 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.204 mg [USDA]0.193 mg [USDA]
Potassium467 mg [USDA]570 mg [USDA]
Magnesium58 mg [USDA]74 mg [USDA]
Calcium34 mg [USDA]32 mg [USDA]
Iron3.14 mg [USDA]2.45 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.78 mg [USDA]0.79 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )126 µg [USDA]imputed182 µg [USDA]imputed
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed

Daily amounts per 100 g boiled

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g boiledDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein6.81 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.8% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 15.1% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 11.7% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 14.8% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 11.7% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber5.4 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 21.6% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 18% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 21.6% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 21.6% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 21.6% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:115.2 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 182 µg (label amount), gives 15.2 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.17% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C10.1 mg
Vitamin E0.14 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.933% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 4.67% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.27% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 1.87% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food6.2 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.89% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 8.86% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 8.86% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 10.3% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 11.3% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)26 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.5% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 13% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 7.88% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 6.5% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 6.5% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.193 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.8% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 16.1% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 12.1% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14.8% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 14.8% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium570 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 21.9% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 16.3% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 16.3% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 20.4% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 16.2% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium74 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 23.1% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 27.4% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 24.7% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 23.1% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 33.6% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium32 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.2% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 4.57% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.37% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 3.2% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.2% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron2.45 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 13.6% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 16.6% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 15.3% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 22.3% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 13.6% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.17–12.5% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.79 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.88% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 11.3% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.5% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 9.88% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 8.06–26.3% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g boiledDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.14 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 12.7% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 17.5% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 12.7% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 12.7% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.096 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.73% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 8.73% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.73% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 8.73% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium2 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.64% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 3.33% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.86% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.33% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 7.69% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.305 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 33.9% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 25.4% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 23.5% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 25.4% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese1.25 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 69.6% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 41.7% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 25% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus130 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 18.6% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 23.6% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 23.6% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 13% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium17 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.13% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.85% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.85% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.85% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline44.1 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10.4% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 11% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.4% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

lima beans

UK CoFID 2021 has no entry for raw lima beans. USDA lists 1.48 g of sugars in 100 g and gives no starch figure; what it breaks down to is not worked out here.

Starchnot reported [USDA]
Total sugars1.48 g [USDA]
Glucosenot reported [USDA]
Fructosenot reported [USDA]
Sucrosenot reported [USDA]
Maltosenot reported [USDA]
Lactosenot reported [USDA]
Galactosenot reported [USDA]
Fiber (USDA total)4.9 g [USDA]

USDA FDC 168396: Lima beans, immature seeds, raw (no CoFID entry for green (immature) lima beans; CoFID has dried butter beans only) [source]

lima beans (boiled)

UK CoFID 2021 has no entry for boiled lima beans. USDA lists 1.63 g of sugars in 100 g and gives no starch figure; what it breaks down to is not worked out here.

Starchnot reported [USDA]
Total sugars1.63 g [USDA]
Glucosenot reported [USDA]
Fructosenot reported [USDA]
Sucrosenot reported [USDA]
Maltosenot reported [USDA]
Lactosenot reported [USDA]
Galactosenot reported [USDA]
Fiber (USDA total)5.4 g [USDA]

USDA FDC 169135: Lima beans, immature seeds, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt (no CoFID entry for green (immature) lima beans; CoFID has dried butter beans only) [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

(linamarin), as HCN

As the source gives it
3.2 mg HCN/100 g, as sold [source]
Dose
raw: 3.2 mg HCN in 100 gboiled: cyanide after cooking: not measured
Threshold
raw: 3.08 mg cyanide: 2.2 of the [source] 20 µg/kg = 1.4 mg at 70 kg, in a single day (EFSA). Worked out as HCN × 26.02/27.03 = cyanide.boiled: : no amount on the plate to compare [source]
Effect
Cyanide released from the glycoside blocks cellular respiration. Acute signs include headache, dizziness, mental confusion, cyanosis, twitching and convulsions; EFSA reports a lethal dose of 0.5–3.5 mg/kg body weight. Regulatory assessment

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources