Broccoli

In plain English

Broccoli carries , about 62 µmol per 100 g raw: the mustard-oil chemistry the cabbage family uses as a defense. One of them, glucoraphanin, is the source of sulforaphane, which has been studied in human trials. Boiling for 30 minutes lost 77% of the glucosinolates, mostly into the water; steaming, microwaving and stir-frying caused no significant loss. 100 g raw broccoli has 89.2 mg vitamin C, 119% of the 75 mg US for women.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Brassica oleracea var. italica
Kingdom
plant
Family
Brassicaceae
Part eaten
flower buds and stem
In the kitchen
vegetable

The same species as cabbage and kale: different varieties bred from wild cabbage.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 62 µmol in 100 g, no established safety limit. Human observational study
  • S-methylcysteine sulfoxide: 96 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Animal study
  • Glucobrassicin → indole-3-carbinol: 0.5–54.6 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Human trial
  • : 67 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Human observational study

2 compounds listed for this food have no amount for raw; they are under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Glucosinolates: Boiling 30 min lost 77%, mostly leached into the water. Steaming, microwaving and stir-frying caused no significant loss. [source]
  • Glucoraphanin → sulforaphane: Cooking inactivates myrosinase, the enzyme that makes sulforaphane. From cooked vegetables only ~12% (1–41%) converts. Light steaming (<5 min) preserves some. Steaming retains more glucoraphanin than boiling. [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 170379]boiled [FDC 169967]
Protein2.82 g [USDA]imputed2.38 g [USDA]
Fat0.37 g [USDA]imputed0.41 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential6.64 g [USDA]calculated7.18 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber2.6 g [USDA]3.3 g [USDA]
Sugars1.7 g [USDA]calculated1.39 g [USDA]
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:131.2 µg [USDA]calculated77.4 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C89.2 mg [USDA]imputed64.9 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.78 mg [USDA]imputed1.45 mg [USDA]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food102 µg [USDA]141 µg [USDA]
Folate (DFE)63 µg [USDA]calculated108 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.175 mg [USDA]0.2 mg [USDA]
Potassium316 mg [USDA]imputed293 mg [USDA]
Magnesium21 mg [USDA]21 mg [USDA]
Calcium47 mg [USDA]40 mg [USDA]
Iron0.73 mg [USDA]0.67 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.41 mg [USDA]0.45 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )361 µg [USDA]imputed929 µg [USDA]
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )25 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )1 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein2.82 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.13% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 6.27% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.85% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 6.13% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.85% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber2.6 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 8.67% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 10.4% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:131.2 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 361 µg (label amount), gives 30.1 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 25 µg (label amount), gives 1.04 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 1 µg (label amount), gives 0.0417 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.45% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C89.2 mg
Vitamin E0.78 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.2% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 26% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.09% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 11.1% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 10.4% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food102 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 113% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 145% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 145% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 169% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 185% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)63 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 15.8% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 31.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 19.1% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 15.8% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 15.8% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.175 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 13.5% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 14.6% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.9% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 13.5% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 13.5% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium316 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 12.2% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 9.03% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.03% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 11.3% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 9% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium21 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.56% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 7.78% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.56% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 9.55% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium47 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.7% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 6.71% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.95% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 4.7% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.7% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron0.73 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.06% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 4.93% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 4.56% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 6.64% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.06% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.24–3.72% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.41 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.12% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5.86% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.47% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 5.12% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.18–13.7% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.071 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.45% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 8.88% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.45% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 6.45% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.117 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10.6% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 10.6% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.31% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.6% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 10.6% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium2.5 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.55% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 4.17% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.57% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.17% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 9.62% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.049 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.44% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 4.08% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.77% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.08% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.21 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 11.7% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.2% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus66 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.43% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 12% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 12% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.6% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium33 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.2% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.65% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.65% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 1.65% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline18.7 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.4% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.68% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.4% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

broccoli

Most of the carbohydrate in raw broccoli is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 1.3 g of glucose and about 1.2 g of fructose, plus traces of sucrose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose1.3 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose1.2 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose1.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digestedtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split0.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars1.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents3.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar2.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-502: Broccoli, green, raw [source]

broccoli (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled broccoli is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 1.5 g of glucose and about 0.8 g of fructose, plus traces of sucrose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose1.5 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.8 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digestedtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split0.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars1.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents2.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar2.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar2.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-503: Broccoli, green, boiled in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

(total)

As the source gives it
62 µmol/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 62 µmol in 100 gboiled: 62 µmol in 100 g (raw value; cooking changes this, see note)
Cooking
Boiling 30 min lost 77%, mostly leached into the water. Steaming, microwaving and stir-frying caused no significant loss. [source]
Threshold
No established thresholdNo EFSA/JECFA/WHO human value found. Thyroid risk comes from specific breakdown products (see )
Effect
No adverse effects documented in humans at normal intakes. Human observational study

Glucoraphanin → sulforaphane

As the source gives it
1.2–217.9 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 1.2–217.9 mg/100 g, fresh weight; not in totals: the entry's own note says the plate should use total glucosinolates insteadboiled: 1.2–217.9 mg/100 g, fresh weight; not in totals: the entry's own note says the plate should use total glucosinolates instead
Cooking
Cooking inactivates myrosinase, the enzyme that makes sulforaphane. From cooked vegetables only ~12% (1–41%) converts. Light steaming (<5 min) preserves some. Steaming retains more glucoraphanin than boiling. [source]
Threshold
No established threshold
Effect
No serious adverse effects reported in humans. A 12-week broccoli-sprout drink did not affect thyroid hormones. Human trial
Used in / studied for
Sulforaphane studied in human trials for autism behaviors (improved scores), air-pollutant excretion (+61% benzene), type 2 diabetes in obese patients, H. pylori and prostate PSA.Dose studied: 50–150 µmol sulforaphane/day (autism); 600 µmol glucoraphanin + 40 µmol sulforaphane/day (pollutants)In a portion: 80 g raw broccoli ≈ 50 µmol total glucosinolate; cooked yields far less sulforaphane (~12% conversion)Human trial [source]

(from progoitrin)

As the source gives it
up to 10 µmol per 100 g serving (upper bound: 'less than 10'), per 100 g serving [source]
Dose
raw: up to 10 µmol per 100 g serving (upper bound: 'less than 10'), per 100 g serving; not in totals: the source gives only a maximumboiled: up to 10 µmol per 100 g serving (upper bound: 'less than 10'), per 100 g serving; not in totals: the source gives only a maximum
Threshold
literature human dose: the threshold is not a dose per kg body weight per day [source]
Effect
Reduces thyroid iodine uptake at high doses. By these figures, reaching 194 µmol would take ~2 kg of broccoli or kale in one go. Clinical cases are extreme, e.g. 1–1.5 kg/day of raw bok choy for months (NEJM 2010 case report). Human trial

S-methylcysteine sulfoxide (SMCSO)

As the source gives it
96 mg/100 g (median), fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 96 mg in 100 gboiled: 96 mg in 100 g (raw value; the source gives no cooking figure)
Threshold
No established thresholdKnown as the 'kale anemia factor' in grazing cattle and sheep; no human effect sourced
Effect
Causes anemia in ruminants fed large amounts of kale forage; no human adverse effect found. Animal study

Glucobrassicin → indole-3-carbinol

As the source gives it
0.5–54.6 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 0.5–54.6 mg in 100 gboiled: 0.5–54.6 mg in 100 g (raw value; the source gives no cooking figure)
Threshold
No established thresholdSupplements at 800 mg/day caused dizziness and tremor, which resolved when the dose was reduced (LPI)
Effect
No adverse effects at dietary levels. Human trial
Used in / studied for
Indole-3-carbinol supplements studied for cervical and vulvar precancer and respiratory papillomatosis (small trials, some positive), and lupus (no effect).Dose studied: 200–400 mg/dayIn a portion: no sourced yield per 100 g of vegetableHuman trial [source]

As the source gives it
67 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 67 mg in 100 gboiled: 67 mg in 100 g (raw value; the source gives no cooking figure)
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No EFSA/JECFA/WHO value. Clinical low-oxalate diet target <100 mg/day (<50 mg if high urinary ) — diet guidance, not a safety limit
Effect
Low compared with spinach. Human observational study
Over time
Repeated intake: kidney stones

Most kidney stones are calcium , and stone crystals develop over weeks or months. In a large US study, men and older women eating the most oxalate had about a 21–22% higher risk of stones than those eating the least; in younger women there was no link. The authors concluded that dietary oxalate is not a major risk factor. The National Kidney Foundation advises eating enough calcium-rich foods rather than strictly limiting oxalate, and says limiting very high oxalate foods may be warranted for people with high urine oxalate despite getting enough calcium. Human observational study

Sources: MedlinePlus (US National Library of Medicine), Kidney stones; National Kidney Foundation, Six easy ways to prevent kidney stones (updated 26 Aug 2025); Taylor EN & Curhan GC 2007, J Am Soc Nephrol 18(7):2198–2204, abstract; National Kidney Foundation, as above

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources