Beets (beetroot)

In plain English

Beets are rich in : 110–137.9 mg per 100 g (EU median and mean). It is the compound with a safe daily limit, and also the one studied for lowering blood pressure. The blood-pressure trials used about 400 mg a day, roughly four times what an 80 g portion contains (88–110 mg), and above the acceptable daily intake for a 70 kg adult (259 mg). 100 g raw beets also give 109 µg folate, 27.3% of the 400 µg DFE US .

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Beta vulgaris
Kingdom
plant
Family
Amaranthaceae
Part eaten
root (swollen root and hypocotyl)
In the kitchen
vegetable

The same species as chard and sugar beet.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 110–138 mg in 100 g, well under the safe limit at the low end, close to it at the high end. Regulatory assessment
  • : 105 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Human observational study

What changes it

  • Nitrate: No beetroot-specific boiling figure found; EFSA general range 16–79% lost in cooking water. [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 169145]boiled [FDC 169146]
Protein1.61 g [USDA]1.68 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Fat0.17 g [USDA]0.18 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Carbohydrate: not essential9.56 g [USDA]calculated9.96 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber2.8 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code2 g [USDA]
Sugars6.76 g [USDA]imputed7.96 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:11.67 µg [USDA]calculated1.75 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C4.9 mg [USDA]3.6 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.04 mg [USDA]imputed0.04 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food0.2 µg [USDA]imputed0.2 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)109 µg [USDA]calculated80 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.067 mg [USDA]0.067 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Potassium325 mg [USDA]305 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Magnesium23 mg [USDA]23 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Calcium16 mg [USDA]16 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Iron0.8 mg [USDA]0.79 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Zinc0.35 mg [USDA]0.35 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )20 µg [USDA]imputed21 µg [USDA]imputed
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein1.61 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.5% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 3.58% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.77% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 3.5% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.77% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber2.8 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 11.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 9.33% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 11.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 11.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 11.2% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:11.67 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 20 µg (label amount), gives 1.67 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.238% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C4.9 mg
Vitamin E0.04 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.267% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 1.33% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.364% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.571% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 0.533% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food0.2 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.222% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 0.286% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 0.286% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 0.333% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 0.364% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)109 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 27.2% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 54.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 33% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 27.2% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 27.2% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.067 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.15% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 5.58% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.19% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.15% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 5.15% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium325 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 12.5% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 9.29% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.29% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 11.6% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 9.26% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium23 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.19% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 8.52% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.67% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.19% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 10.5% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium16 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.6% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 2.29% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.68% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 1.6% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.6% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron0.8 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.44% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 5.41% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 5% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 7.27% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.44% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.36–4.08% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.35 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.38% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.67% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 4.38% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.57–11.7% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.031 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.82% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 3.88% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.82% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.82% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.04 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.64% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 3.64% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.5% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.64% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.64% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0.7 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.27% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 1.17% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.17% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.69% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.075 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.33% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 6.25% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.77% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.25% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.329 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 18.3% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 11% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.58% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus40 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.71% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 7.27% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.27% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium78 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.2% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.9% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.9% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 3.9% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline6 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.41% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.5% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.41% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

beets

Most of the carbohydrate in raw beets is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 4.15 g of glucose and about 3.45 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose4.15 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose3.45 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested6.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents7.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-164: Beetroot, raw [source]

beets (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled beets is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 6.15 g of glucose and about 5.45 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose6.15 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose5.45 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested10.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars10.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents11.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar2.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-633: Beetroot, cooked in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

As the source gives it
110–137.9 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 110–138 mg in 100 gboiled: 110–138 mg in 100 g (raw value; cooking changes this, see note)
Cooking
No beetroot-specific boiling figure found; EFSA general range 16–79% lost in cooking water. [source]
Threshold
0.425–0.532 of the [source]: 3.7 mg ion/kg body weight/day = 259 mg/day at 70 kg (SCF 1997, reconfirmed JECFA 2002, retained EFSA 2017). = 222 mg/day for a 60 kg adult (EFSA 2008)
Legal maximum in the food
No EU maximum level for beetroot
Effect
No appreciable risk at normal intakes (EFSA). The ~400 mg/day doses used in trials exceed the for a 60 kg adult (222 mg). Regulatory assessment
Used in / studied for
Beetroot juice lowered systolic blood pressure ~8 mm Hg over 4 weeks in hypertensive patients (RCT). A meta-analysis of 16 trials found −4.4 mm Hg. It also improves short-duration exercise performance (meta-analysis of 123 studies). One trial at ~150 mg/day from vegetables found no BP effect.Dose studied: ~400 mg nitrate/day (6.4 mmol) for BP; 310–924 mg acute for exerciseIn a portion: 80 g beetroot ≈ 88–110 mg nitrateHuman trial [source]

As the source gives it
105 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 105 mg in 100 gboiled: 105 mg in 100 g (raw value; the source gives no cooking figure)
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No EFSA/JECFA/WHO value. Clinical low-oxalate diet target <100 mg/day (<50 mg if high urinary ) — diet guidance, not a safety limit
Effect
As for spinach . Human observational study
Over time
Repeated intake: kidney stones

Most kidney stones are calcium , and stone crystals develop over weeks or months. In a large US study, men and older women eating the most oxalate had about a 21–22% higher risk of stones than those eating the least; in younger women there was no link. The authors concluded that dietary oxalate is not a major risk factor. The National Kidney Foundation advises eating enough calcium-rich foods rather than strictly limiting oxalate, and says limiting very high oxalate foods may be warranted for people with high urine oxalate despite getting enough calcium. Human observational study

Sources: MedlinePlus (US National Library of Medicine), Kidney stones; National Kidney Foundation, Six easy ways to prevent kidney stones (updated 26 Aug 2025); Taylor EN & Curhan GC 2007, J Am Soc Nephrol 18(7):2198–2204, abstract; National Kidney Foundation, as above

1 entry for this food is hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources