Sweet potato

In plain English

A sweet potato is not a potato. It belongs to the morning glory family, while the potato is a nightshade, and it is a swollen root rather than a stem. Its orange color comes from beta-carotene, which the body turns into vitamin A: 100 g boiled gives 787 µg , 112% of the 700 µg US for women. Damage or infection can raise levels of ipomeamarone, a liver toxin in animal studies: one 1975 study found 10–90 mg per 100 g in damaged roots, and 6.8 and 32.8 mg in two undamaged ones.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Ipomoea batatas
Kingdom
plant
Family
Convolvulaceae
Part eaten
storage root
In the kitchen
vegetable

Not a potato: sweet potato is in the morning glory family, potato in the nightshade family.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

2 compounds listed for this food have no amount for boiled; they are under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Trypsin inhibitors: Cooked sweet potato pieces kept 17–31% of their trypsin inhibitor activity (taro kept 3–10%). Sweet potato flour kept 5–12%. Microwave baking and flour-making removed the most. [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 168482]boiled [FDC 168484]
Protein1.57 g [USDA]1.37 g [USDA]
Fat0.05 g [USDA]0.14 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential20.1 g [USDA]calculated17.7 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber3 g [USDA]2.5 g [USDA]
Sugars4.18 g [USDA]calculated5.74 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:1709 µg [USDA]calculated787 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C2.4 mg [USDA]12.8 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.26 mg [USDA]0.94 mg [USDA]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food1.8 µg [USDA]2.1 µg [USDA]
Folate (DFE)11 µg [USDA]calculated6 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.209 mg [USDA]0.165 mg [USDA]
Potassium337 mg [USDA]230 mg [USDA]
Magnesium25 mg [USDA]18 mg [USDA]
Calcium30 mg [USDA]27 mg [USDA]
Iron0.61 mg [USDA]0.72 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.3 mg [USDA]0.2 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )8510 µg [USDA]9440 µg [USDA]
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )7 µg [USDA]0 µg [USDA]
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]0 µg [USDA]

Daily amounts per 100 g boiled

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g boiledDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein1.37 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.98% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 3.04% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.36% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 2.98% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.36% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber2.5 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 8.33% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 10% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:1787 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 9440 µg (label amount), gives 787 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 112% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C12.8 mg
Vitamin E0.94 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.27% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 31.3% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 8.55% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 13.4% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 12.5% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food2.1 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.33% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 3% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 3% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 3.5% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 3.82% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)6 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.5% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 3% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 1.82% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 1.5% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 1.5% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.165 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 12.7% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 13.8% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.3% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 12.7% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 12.7% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium230 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.85% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 6.57% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.57% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.21% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 6.55% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium18 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.62% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 6.67% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.62% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 8.18% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium27 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.7% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 3.86% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.84% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 2.7% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.7% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron0.72 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 4.86% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 4.5% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 6.55% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.22–3.67% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.2 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.5% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 2.86% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.67% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 2.5% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.04–6.67% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g boiledDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.056 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.09% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 7% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.09% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 5.09% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.047 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.27% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 4.27% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.94% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.27% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.27% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0.2 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.364% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 0.333% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.286% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.333% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.769% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.094 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10.4% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 7.83% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.23% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.83% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.266 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.8% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 8.87% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.32% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus32 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.57% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5.82% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.82% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.2% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium27 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.8% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.35% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.35% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 1.35% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline10.8 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.54% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.7% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.54% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

sweet potato

Most of the carbohydrate in raw sweet potato is starch, which your body breaks down to glucose. 100 g ends up as about 18.5 g of glucose and about 2.8 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose18.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose2.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch15.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested4.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars5.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents21.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar2.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-463: Sweet potato, raw, flesh only [source]

sweet potato (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled sweet potato is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 6.35 g of glucose and about 2.55 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose6.35 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose2.55 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch3.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested4.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is4.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars9.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents13 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar2.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar2.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-646: Sweet potato, flesh only, boiled in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

Trypsin inhibitors

Dose
raw: not in totals: no amount in the source data; explainer onlyboiled: not in totals: no amount in the source data; explainer only
Cooking
Cooked sweet potato pieces kept 17–31% of their trypsin inhibitor activity (taro kept 3–10%). Sweet potato flour kept 5–12%. Microwave baking and flour-making removed the most. [source]
Threshold
No established thresholdNo threshold. Activity is enzyme inhibition, not a mass, so never totalled.
Effect
Inhibits the digestive enzyme trypsin; cooking removes most but not all of the activity. Cell study

Ipomeamarone (furanoterpenoid phytoalexin; with 4-ipomeanol, ipomeanine)

As the source gives it
10–90 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: damaged or infected roots: 10–90 mg/100 g, fresh weight; not in totals: measured in damaged or infected roots, not sound onesboiled: damaged or infected roots: 10–90 mg/100 g, fresh weight; not in totals: measured in damaged or infected roots, not sound onesUndamaged roots, 2 samples (6.8 and 32.8): 6.8–32.8 mg/100 g, fresh weight (Coxon et al. 1975 (abstract)). [source]
Threshold
No established thresholdNo regulatory value found. Practical advice (cut away or discard damaged, mouldy or bitter roots) not sourced in this pass.
Effect
Ipomeamarone is a liver toxin, and related compounds (4-ipomeanol, ipomeanine) damage the lungs in cattle fed mouldy sweet potatoes. Forms when roots are damaged or infected. Animal study

1 entry for this food is hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources