Plate builder

Put plants on a plate. See what is on the label, what your body can use, and the plant chemistry you take in with it: each compound with its dose, its safety threshold where one exists, and how good the evidence is.

700 g, 280 kcal for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

In plain English

This plate gives more than half the US daily amount of 8 of 13 key nutrients; the highest is vitamin K: 1110% of 90 µg [US ].

Vitamin D and vitamin B12: 0% of the US daily amount. USDA lists none in any food on this plate.

Lycopene: well under the safe limit (7.35% of the ). Mostly from tomato.

: inside EFSA's safety margin at the low end, outside it at the high end ( 7–58.3; EFSA sees no concern above 10). All from potato (boiled).

: close to the safe limit (72.8–94.4% of the ). Mostly from beets.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, this plate, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

This plate, 70 kg body weight. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • Lycopene: 2570 µg, well under the safe limit. Regulatory assessment
  • : 1.2–10 mg, inside EFSA's safety margin at the low end, outside it at the high end. Regulatory assessment
  • : 188–244 mg, close to the safe limit. Regulatory assessment

And 8 more compounds with no established safety limit or none that can be compared, each with its dose under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Drinks with a meal: Iron: black tea −79 to −94%; peppermint −84%; cocoa −71%; camomile −47%; milk in tea makes little difference [source] Human trial
  • Salad dressing fat: Vitamin A (beta-carotene): fat-free dressing: absorption negligible; 6 g fat better; 28 g better still [source] Human trial, n=7

Your plate

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50
Show the numbersHide the numbers

1. What's in it

Label amounts from USDA FoodData Central, as % of the daily amount for adults aged 31–50 from five bodies: US/Canada (National Academies RDA or AI), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted; where a body sets no value it says so, and no other body's figure is used instead. Reference values already allow for typical absorption. Vitamin A from plants is carotenoids converted to retinol activity equivalents (RAE); the carotenoids are shown inside it, not as a separate win.

NutrientPlate totalDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Essential nutrients
Protein13.7 g [USDA]Most from kale: 2.92 g (21.3%)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 29.8% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 30.5% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 23.6% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 29.8% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 23.6% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fat2.96 g [USDA]Most from kale: 1.49 g (50.3%)no reference value
Carbohydrate: not essential57.7 g [USDA]Most from potato (boiled): 20 g (34.7%)no reference value
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:11620 µg RAE [USDA]Most from carrot: 835 µg RAE (51.6%)from Beta-carotene: 17600 µg (label amount), gives 1470 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 3600 µg (label amount), gives 150 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 28 µg (label amount), gives 1.17 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 231% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C243 mg [USDA]Most from kale: 93.4 mg (38.5%)
Vitamin E4.72 mg [USDA]Most from spinach: 2.03 mg (43%)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 31.5% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 157% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 42.9% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 67.4% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 62.9% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food998 µg [USDA]Most from spinach: 483 µg (48.4%)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1110% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 1430% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 1430% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 1660% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 1810% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)471 µg [USDA]Most from spinach: 194 µg (41.2%)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 118% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 236% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 143% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 118% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 118% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B61.07 mg [USDA]Most from potato (boiled): 0.269 mg (25.1%)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 82.4% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 89.2% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 66.9% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 82.4% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 82.4% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium2430 mg [USDA]Most from spinach: 558 mg (22.9%)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 93.5% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 69.5% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 69.5% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 86.9% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 69.3% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium199 mg [USDA]Most from spinach: 79 mg (39.7%)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 62.2% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 73.7% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 66.3% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 62.2% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 90.5% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium467 mg [USDA]Most from kale: 254 mg (54.4%)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 46.7% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 66.7% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 49.2% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 46.7% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 46.7% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron6.72 mg [USDA]Most from spinach: 2.71 mg (40.3%)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 37.3% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 45.4% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 42% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 61.1% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 37.3% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 11.4–34.3% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc2.36 mg [USDA]Most from spinach: 0.53 mg (22.5%)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 29.5% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 33.7% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 31.5% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 29.5% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 24.1–78.7% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
What comes with it
Fiber17.5 g [USDA]Most from kale: 4.1 g (23.4%)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 70% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 58.3% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 70% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 70% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 70% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Sugars18.1 g [USDA]Most from beets: 6.76 g (37.3%)no reference value

What the carbohydrate becomes

This plate's carbohydrate ends up as about 29.2 g of glucose and 11.6 g of fructose, plus traces of sucrose and starch.

From UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson), where starch and sugars are monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. A different measure from USDA's carbohydrate row above; the two are never mixed. [UK CoFID 2021]

CarbohydratePlate total
Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose29.2 g, plus traces of sucrose and starch [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose11.6 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch18.2 g, plus traces in tomato [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose4.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose5.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrose12.5 g, plus traces in broccoli and tomato [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istraces only, in carrot, broccoli, tomato and potato (boiled) [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitat least 1 g, not counting spinach, kale, tomato, beets and potato (boiled) (not reported) [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarat least 10.5 g, not counting spinach, kale and beets (not reported) [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar13.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Each food

carrot, 100 g

Most of the carbohydrate in raw carrot is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 3.7 g of glucose and about 3.6 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose3.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose3.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose1.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose1.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split0.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars7.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents7.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar3.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar2.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-496: Carrots, old, raw [source]

spinach, 100 g

Most of the carbohydrate in raw spinach is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 0.85 g of glucose and about 0.75 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose0.85 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.75 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars1.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents1.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar2.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-572: Spinach, mature, raw [source]

broccoli, 100 g

Most of the carbohydrate in raw broccoli is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 1.3 g of glucose and about 1.2 g of fructose, plus traces of sucrose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose1.3 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose1.2 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose1.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digestedtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split0.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars1.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents3.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar2.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-502: Broccoli, green, raw [source]

kale, 100 g

Most of the carbohydrate in raw kale is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 0.75 g of glucose and about 0.65 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose0.75 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.65 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars1.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents1.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar3.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-234: Curly kale, raw [source]

tomato, 100 g

Most of the carbohydrate in raw tomato is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 1.4 g of glucose and about 1.6 g of fructose, plus traces of starch and sucrose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose1.4 g, plus traces of starch and sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose1.6 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starchtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose1.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose1.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digestedtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-517: Tomatoes, standard, raw [source]

beets, 100 g

Most of the carbohydrate in raw beets is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 4.15 g of glucose and about 3.45 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose4.15 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose3.45 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested6.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents7.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-164: Beetroot, raw [source]

potato (boiled), 100 g

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled potato is starch, which your body breaks down to glucose. 100 g ends up as about 17.1 g of glucose and about 0.4 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose17.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch16.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars0.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents17.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar1.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-490: Potatoes, old, boiled in unsalted water, flesh only [source]

Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPlate totalDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.494 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 44.9% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 61.8% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 44.9% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 44.9% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.789 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 71.7% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 71.7% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 49.3% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 71.7% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 71.7% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium5.5 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 9.17% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.86% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 9.17% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 21.2% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.578 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 64.2% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 48.2% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 44.5% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 48.2% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese2.75 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 153% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 91.8% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 55.1% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus309 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 44.1% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 56.2% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 56.2% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 30.9% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium322 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 21.5% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 16.1% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 16.1% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 16.1% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline73.2 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 17.2% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 18.3% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 17.2% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Where the label figures come from

2. What you absorb: calcium

Label calcium (467 mg on this plate) is unchanged. An absorbed figure is shown only where a study measured it for that food; no food borrows another's figure.

FoodOn the labelAbsorbed
carrot33 mgno sourced absorption figure
spinach99 mg5.05 mg5.1% absorbed; the source does not state raw or cooked; milk 0.276 in the same study; n=13Heaney, Weaver & Recker 1988, Am J Clin Nutr 47:707 [source] Human trial
broccoli47 mgno sourced absorption figure
kale254 mg104 mg40.9% absorbed; the source does not state raw or cooked; milk 0.321 in the same study; n=11Heaney & Weaver 1990, Am J Clin Nutr 51:656 [source] Human trial
tomato10 mgno sourced absorption figure
beets16 mgno sourced absorption figure
potato (boiled)8 mgno sourced absorption figure

From the foods with a sourced figure (spinach, kale): 109 mg absorbed of their 353 mg on the label. The other foods have no sourced absorption figure, so there is no absorbed total for the whole plate.

3. What you have to deal with

Each compound is totalled on its own, in its own unit, for 70 kg body weight. Different compounds are never added together. Amounts are ranges from the published sources.

Falcarinol (carotatoxin)

Dose on this plate
0.7–4.06 mg (fresh weight) [source]carrot: 0.7–4.06 mg
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No established threshold. Literature toxicology only: neurotoxic in mice at high concentrations (Crosby & Aharonson 1967); LD50 100 mg/kg in mice by injection, not oral (via Alfurayhi et al. 2023 review)
Evidence
Cell study

Falcarindiol

Dose on this plate
0.48–4.04 mg (fresh weight) [source]carrot: 0.48–4.04 mg
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No established threshold. LD50 >200 mg/kg in rats (route not stated), via review
Evidence
Animal study

Falcarindiol-3-acetate

Dose on this plate
0.51–2.16 mg (fresh weight) [source]carrot: 0.51–2.16 mg
Threshold
No established thresholdNo established threshold; no toxicology found
Evidence
Not graded

Alpha-tomatine (glycoalkaloid)

Dose on this plate
0.03–0.08 mg (fresh weight) [source]tomato: 0.03–0.08 mg
Threshold
No established threshold [source]EFSA 2020: for tomato 'the risk to human health could not be characterised due to the lack of occurrence data and the limited toxicity data'
Evidence
Animal study

Lycopene

Dose on this plate
2570 µg (USDA FDC) [source] [source] [source] [source] [source] [source] [source]carrot: 1 µg; spinach: 0 µg; broccoli: 0 µg; kale: 0 µg; tomato: 2570 µg; beets: 0 µg; potato (boiled): 0 µg
Threshold
0.0735 of the [source]: 0.5 mg/kg body weight/day (all sources) = 35 mg/day at 70 kg (EFSA 2008 (retained 2010); JECFA 2009 'not specified').
Evidence
Regulatory assessment

(alpha-solanine + alpha-chaconine)

Dose on this plate
1.2–10 mg (fresh weight) [source]raw value applied to cooked grams; cooking changes thispotato (boiled): 1.2–10 mg
Threshold
7–58.3 (EFSA's no-concern margin: above 10) [source]Below EFSA's no-concern margin at 10 mg ( 7); above it at 1.2 mg (MOE 58.3). MOE = (acute) of 1 mg total potato /kg body weight/day ÷ dose per kg at 70 kg; EFSA CONTAM Panel 2020, EFSA Journal 18(8):e06222. A larger MOE is further from harm.“Accordingly, an MOE higher than 10 indicates that there is no health concern.” [source]
Evidence
Regulatory assessment
Over time
May build up over time

In human volunteers, the two potato stayed in the blood for a long time: average half-lives of 21 hours for α-solanine and 44 hours for α-chaconine. EFSA says this suggests a possible accumulation. Regulatory assessment

Sources: EFSA CONTAM Panel 2020, EFSA Journal 18(8):e06222, Summary; EFSA CONTAM Panel 2020, EFSA Journal 18(8):e06222, toxicokinetics in humans

Dose on this plate
502–2520 mg (fresh weight) [source] [source] [source]spinach: 330–2350 mg; beets: 105 mg; broccoli: 67 mg
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No EFSA/JECFA/WHO value. Clinical low-oxalate diet target <100 mg/day (<50 mg if high urinary ) — diet guidance, not a safety limit
Evidence
Human observational study
Over time
Repeated intake: kidney stones

Most kidney stones are calcium , and stone crystals develop over weeks or months. In a large US study, men and older women eating the most oxalate had about a 21–22% higher risk of stones than those eating the least; in younger women there was no link. The authors concluded that dietary oxalate is not a major risk factor. The National Kidney Foundation advises eating enough calcium-rich foods rather than strictly limiting oxalate, and says limiting very high oxalate foods may be warranted for people with high urine oxalate despite getting enough calcium. Human observational study

Sources: MedlinePlus (US National Library of Medicine), Kidney stones; National Kidney Foundation, Six easy ways to prevent kidney stones (updated 26 Aug 2025); Taylor EN & Curhan GC 2007, J Am Soc Nephrol 18(7):2198–2204, abstract; National Kidney Foundation, as above

Dose on this plate
188–244 mg (fresh weight) [source]spinach: 78.5–107 mg; beets: 110–138 mg
Threshold
0.728–0.944 of the [source]: 3.7 mg ion/kg body weight/day = 259 mg/day at 70 kg (SCF 1997, reconfirmed JECFA 2002, retained EFSA 2017). = 222 mg/day for a 60 kg adult (EFSA 2008)
Legal maximum in the food
spinach: EU max 3,500 mg/kg fresh spinach; 2,000 mg/kg preserved/frozen (Reg 1258/2011, carried into 2023/915; same in UK FSA guidance)beets: No EU maximum level for beetroot
Evidence
Regulatory assessment

(total)

Dose on this plate
126–946 µmol (fresh weight) [source] [source]broccoli: 62 µmol; kale: 64–884 µmol
Threshold
No established thresholdNo EFSA/JECFA/WHO human value found. Thyroid risk comes from specific breakdown products (see )
Evidence
Human observational study

S-methylcysteine sulfoxide (SMCSO)

Dose on this plate
192 mg (fresh weight) [source]broccoli: 96 mg; kale: 96 mg
Threshold
No established thresholdKnown as the 'kale anemia factor' in grazing cattle and sheep; no human effect sourced
Evidence
Animal study

Glucobrassicin → indole-3-carbinol

Dose on this plate
0.5–54.6 mg (fresh weight) [source]broccoli: 0.5–54.6 mg
Threshold
No established thresholdSupplements at 800 mg/day caused dizziness and tremor, which resolved when the dose was reduced (LPI)
Evidence
Human trial
Also listed for these foods, not in the totals (4)

Calcium bound by oxalate (spinach)

5.1 % of spinach calcium absorbed (vs 27.6% from milk), human isotope study, 13 adults. Not in totals: the unit (% of spinach calcium absorbed (vs 27.6% from milk)) is not an amount per 100 g.

Threshold: Not applicable

Human trial

Glucoraphanin → sulforaphane (broccoli)

1.2–217.9 mg/100 g, fresh weight. Not in totals: the entry's own note says the plate should use total glucosinolates instead.

Threshold: No established threshold

Human trial

Goitrin (from progoitrin) (broccoli)

up to 10 µmol per 100 g serving (upper bound: 'less than 10'), per 100 g serving. Not in totals: the source gives only a maximum.

Threshold: literature human dose: the threshold is not a dose per kg body weight per day [source]

Human trial

Goitrin (from progoitrin) (kale)

up to 10 µmol per 100 g serving (upper bound: 'less than 10'), per 100 g serving. Not in totals: the source gives only a maximum.

Threshold: literature human dose: the threshold is not a dose per kg body weight per day [source]

Human trial

2 entries for foods on this plate are hidden pending verification (9 across all foods). They are never shown with a value until checked.

4. Diversity: this plate vs the same grams of one food

The same 700 g eaten as one food. Spreading grams across plants gives less of each single compound (the toxin dilution idea, Freeland & Janzen 1974), while adding others.

Energy: 280 kcal for this plate, 161 kcal for spinach alone [USDA].

NutrientThis platespinach alone
Protein13.7 g20 g
Fat2.96 g2.73 g
Carbohydrate: not essential57.7 g25.4 g
Fiber17.5 g15.4 g
Sugars18.1 g2.94 g
Vitamin A1620 µg RAE3280 µg RAE
Vitamin C243 mg197 mg
Vitamin E4.72 mg14.2 mg
Vitamin K1998 µg3380 µg
Folate (DFE)471 µg1360 µg
Vitamin B61.07 mg1.36 mg
Potassium2430 mg3910 mg
Magnesium199 mg553 mg
Calcium467 mg693 mg
Iron6.72 mg19 mg
Zinc2.36 mg3.71 mg
CompoundThis platespinach alone
Falcarinol (carotatoxin)0.7–4.06 mgnone counted
Falcarindiol0.48–4.04 mgnone counted
Falcarindiol-3-acetate0.51–2.16 mgnone counted
Alpha-tomatine (glycoalkaloid)0.03–0.08 mgnone counted
Lycopene2570 µg (0.0735 of the ADI)0 µg (0 of the ADI)
Glycoalkaloids (alpha-solanine + alpha-chaconine)1.2–10 mg (MOE 7–58.3 (EFSA's no-concern margin: above 10))none counted
Oxalate502–2520 mg2310–16400 mg
Nitrate188–244 mg (0.728–0.944 of the ADI)550–746 mg (2.12–2.88 of the ADI)
Glucosinolates (total)126–946 µmolnone counted
S-methylcysteine sulfoxide (SMCSO)192 mgnone counted
Glucobrassicin → indole-3-carbinol0.5–54.6 mgnone counted

The foods